Bangladesh win by 7 wkts

Women BD Desk: Bangladesh have clinch a comfortable seven-wicket victory aganist West Indies in the crucial World Cup match.

Tigers registered 322 run losing three wickets with 51 balls to spare against West Indies in Taunton today. The Tigers equalled their highest-ever chase after also chasing down 322 against Scotland in 2015.

West Indies have set a 322-run target for Bangladesh. They scored 321 runs losing eight wickets in 50 overs.

Earlier in the day, Bangladesh captain Mashrafe Bin Mortaza won the toss and opted to bowl first against West Indies in their fifth game of this World Cup at the Cooper Associates County Ground in Taunton.

Fall of wickets: WI 1-6 (CH Gayle, 3.2 ov), 2-122 (E Lewis, 24.3 ov), 3-159 (N Pooran, 32.2 ov), 4-242 (SO Hetmyer, 39.3 ov), 5-243 (AD Russell, 39.6 ov), 6-282 (JO Holder, 43.4 ov), 7-297 (SD Hope, 46.6 ov), 8-321 (DM Bravo, 49.6 ov)


Both the team made one change to the side from their previous match.

Bangladesh brought up Liton Das in the place of our-of-form Mohammad Mithun while Darren Bravo replaced Carlos Brathwaite in West Indies team.

They earlier met each other in ODI cricket for 37 times, amongst which West Indies won 21 and Bangladesh 14, while two other matches were rained out. In World Cup, They took on each other four times and West Indies won three matches and the other match was washed out.

Fall of wickets: Ban 52-1 (Soumya Sarkar, 8.2), 121-2 (Tamim Iqbal, 17.3), 133-3 (Mushfiqur Rahim, 18.6)

Bangladesh however held the edge, winning seven out of nine matches against West Indies in the last one year, including three straight victories in the recently concluded tri-series in Ireland.

The Tigers lifted their maiden major trophy in tournament involving three or more team, beating West Indies by five wickets in the rain-interrupted final in tri-series.

Therefore it’s the match where Bangladesh have come up as absolute favourites even though

Line Ups

Bangladesh: Tamim Iqbal, Soumya Sarkar, Shakib Al Hasan, Mushfiqur Rahim (wicket-keeper), Liton Das, Mhamudullah Riyad, Mosaddek Hossain Saikat, Mehidy Hasan, Mohammad Saifuddin, Mashrafe Bin Mortaza (captain), Mustafizur Rahman.

West Indies: Chris Gayle, Evin Lewis, Shai Hope (wicket-keeper), Nicholas Pooran, Shimron Hetmeyer, Jason Holder (captain), Andre Russell, Darren Bravo, Shannon Gabriel, Sheldon Cottrell, Oshane Thomas.


Comment here